Home » self reflection » Abundance

Abundance

I’ve been thinking about this post for a few weeks.  Since I decided to visit a local flea market actually.  I’m sure you have been to a busy place before.  A mall, a parade, a market.  Whatever the place the amount of material there is immense.  I was surrounded by clothing, glassware, furniture, food, jewelry, toys, just to name a few.  This was a place that could be overwhelming and indeed after a few hours I found I needed to find some space.  The colors, sights, smells and sheer numbers were uncountable.

The experience got me to thinking just how much STUFF there is in the world.  Which is interesting as most people (myself included) run on the assumption that their isn’t enough for them.  For whatever the reason the idea stuck with me and I found myself contemplating it for several day.  Have you every really looked around at how much is in existence?  Just look around your house, the material needed to make your furniture, your fabrics (clothing, rugs, curtains), what about the plastics?  What is the plastic composed of?  The glass, the numbers of grains of sand it took to make the glass?!  The food in your pantry?  And that, that right there was what brought up the next thought I had.

How can we have people with so little when there is so much?  Follow through on the thoughts here.  Let’s say you bought a shirt at a store…Target, JCPenny…whatever.  How many shirts just like the one you got were still hanging on the rack?  How many shirts were in the store?  How many stores are there?  Think about the amount of cotton it took to make all those shirts (not to mention any other material it might be made of).  Now let’s take it a step further, how many shirts do you already have?  How many thrift and second hand stores are in your neighborhood?  How can there be that many shirts??

And of course the next question is how can there be people that don’t have shirts?

This is just an example but so far I haven’t been able to think of a single thing that there aren’t huge numbers for.  I can’t understand numbers that large.  Food….yes, there really is that much food.  Distribution is the problem.  This isn’t a new idea and in fact I have read a lot about it from many places.  But this last week or two I became aware of it in a profound way.

In addition to this I have been watching some fascinating documentaries and the shear abundance of our world staggers me.  I’m not sure there is any real purpose in all of this except awareness.  Becoming more aware of exactly what is available makes it easier to remind myself in times of lack to remember, there really isn’t any lack…I just need to be directed to another source.  It’s comforting to remember that when I get stressed or distracted.  And it can be used in lack of any type.  There is plenty enough of everything for everyone.  With that knowledge I can do as Jesus directed John the Baptist to do while in prison, look over the limitation of the prison wall.  See what else is happening and available around you.  Be open to possibility and don’t get lost in appearances….cause there is always enough.  Enough love, faith, hope and yes even food.  🙂

Leave a Reply

