Home » Professional development » Independence

Independence

When I was young my 4th of July was typical.  I grew up in the Midwest…my backyard was literally a cornfield.  A small town, a train ran through it.  There was a main street with a theater.  There were two, maybe three restaurants.  A post office, a library…one grocery store.  If you wanted to do any real shopping it was a 20 min drive to the city to get what you needed or wanted.  Pretty Americana…

This fourth I’m at home watching American History films and listening to classical guitar.  I took a road trip.  Had a glass of wine.  Listened to my dog bark and the strange booming noises outside.  So very different from my childhood fourth with its sparklers and lightening bugs.  When you looked at the lights in the sky and were amazed…

I wonder with all the things happening in our world what Freedom really means.  What about this?  What about that?  It seems when you bring people together that inevitably problems follow shortly after them.  I struggle, each opinion has its on merits.  Each thought and perspective just as valid as the other in most cases.  How do we as Americans really create a freedom that is there for everyone, in every country, of every race, gender and ethnicity?  How do we as HUMANS create that?

The fireworks draws our eyes to the sky and a person looks at that immensity and sees the Universe spread out.  Something so vast that it makes us feel small.  And perhaps that is where this Freedom comes to fruition.  By knowing that their is space for everything.  I don’t need to keep someone else from being less so I can hold on to my own sense of well being…there is enough space for both, for all.  I think that is what God sees.  I think that God knows that there is enough space and so we don’t have to force anything on anyone.  They can do their own thing, it’s all good.

Can you do that?  Can you look at each person, object and thing and give it its space?  Can you allow it to be what and how it is?  That seems to be real freedom.  I’m a dreamer obviously….the idealist waiting for Utopia to open its doors…but what if we could?  What if we could allow that space, that freedom.  Surely that Independence is close to Love (capitol L).

I could go on but it would just be rambling.  My heart aches tonight for the weary I suppose.  For those that struggle and fight and I want to tell them they don’t need to.  That what we all really need to do is just give space.  To give Love.

Happy Fourth of July everyone.  May your year of freedom be glorious.

3 thoughts on “Independence

  1. You are indeed wise beyond your years. I can’t get 100% behind the “do your own thing” approach without more context though, so enlighten me? Loved the format and path you took to share your thought though, not too much, not too little.

Leave a Reply

