Home » better living » New Home

New Home

Wow, what a crazy couple of weeks. The kids and I are very happy to say that we have purchased a home and we moved in the first weekend of October.  The move went really well and I’m very grateful for everyone that was able to help us get settled in.  It’s a small place, a three bedroom townhouse, but I’m excited about it.  I didn’t want to take care of a large home.  🙂

It’s in a great little neighborhood too, at the end of a cul-de-sac so that the kids can play and the threat of cars is minimal.  We can even walk to school, which we have already done several times this week.  It’s the highlight of our day.  My daughter talks about how she likes the extra time to talk to me on our walks to school – it’s very nice.  Today on the walk we found some really big, red, maple leaves.  Fall is a’comin’.

I find it amusing the things about this place I’m most excited about.  Putting up a fence so I can let the kids (and the dog) out to play.  The fact that the stove is a flat top so it is easier to clean.  The tub I have in the bathroom so I can take baths again.  I missed baths living in our apartment.

It was also interesting how emotional it was to purchase my first home as a single parent.  I suppose I’m grateful for the awareness brought to me through the process but it wasn’t always exciting, sometimes, it was sad.  There is of course more to be said about that but I haven’t gathered all my thoughts about it yet so for now, I will leave it with that.

I think so far what I am most excited about is that my daughter can get outside and play with neighborhood kids.  We have a bunch living on our little street and this is the first time she has ever had the ability to just run outside, jumping down porch steps as she goes off to run around the neighborhood with kids her own age.  She falls pretty much in the middle and is young enough to play with the younger kids but old enough to be enjoyable for the older kids too.  It’s awesome.

My son also likes the outside benefits.  Our sidewalk slopes and racing at breakneck speeds on his scooter is one of his favorite things to do.  He has even figured out how to climb the small tree in the front yard.  🙂

Overall I am really excited and can’t wait for all the fun adventures to come in our new home!

 

 

Leave a Reply

