Home » better living » The #IceBucketChallenge

The #IceBucketChallenge

My son was diagnosed with autism at 3 years of age.  It was shattering for me, I will not sugar coat it.  And I still have days where I really struggle with the challenges his autism brings us.  Because it is a part of my life I am a natural advocate for the disorder.  I follow legislation in my state.  I am a supporter of Autism Speaks and my fabulous state autism society.  I hear stories about the major push to help children and adults with this disorder so they can participate in sports and go to concerts and get jobs.  I am glad to see those things but I’ll be honest sometimes I see those stories and I think, “what about the other kids?”.  What about the kids with cerebral palsy, or down’s syndrome, or who are fighting cancer?  Shouldn’t they have the same kind of attention and support for what their struggle is?

So when I saw this #ALS #icebucketchallenge I was excited.  I was glad that I was seeing something being brought to the foreground and looked at.  I am glad that I can show support for it.  We all, every single person on this planet, are struggling with something.  From autism to eating disorders to ALS and we each of us have a responsibility to support each other.  All of us.  To support each other globally.  Take a few minutes and learn a bit about this disease.  While dumping water on your head is good fun, don’t forget the purpose of the exercise.

I have such a huge list of people to nominate.  I would love to see #KevinSpacey do this.  Or my favorite author #JimButcher.  Or how about some great children character’s like: #DoratheExplorer, #MickeyMouse, #BuzzLightyear, you get the idea.  🙂

But I think I will send this out and know I did my part, that I showed my children something important and to have hope that we get better at supporting each other every day.

Below is the video of our #icebucketchallenge I hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

