Home » better living » Simple Pleasures

Simple Pleasures

I read a book recently, A Quaker Book of Wisdomand just loved it.  I was enamored by the simple way the author talked about life.  It brought to me an ache to have an appreciate for my life in a way I’m not sure I have fully got my head around yet.  While the author had some very specific points made I believe his main idea was about simplicity.  I’ve been thinking about it a little bit and wondering if we have really lost some simple pleasures in our lives or if humanity has always made things more complicated then it needs to be.

When I think about simplicity I think about Andrew Odom and his family’s Tiny r(E)volution.  He, his wife, and child are living in a small spot of land in rural NC in a tiny house.  And the whole reason is to find real meaning in this madness we call life.  It takes real courage to live like that and I’m not sure I have it in me to live that way.

But that doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t find and enjoy simple pleasures.  I’ve been trying to make a list of them and really look for, and appreciate them each day, cause they are usually always there.

Here are some of my ideas:

  1. Breathing
  2. Hot coffee
  3. A beautiful sunrise (or sunset)
  4. Stretching
  5. Great music
  6. Giggling with my children
  7. Fuzzy blankets
  8. The moon, stars and sky
  9. A great meal
  10. Fresh cut grass
  11. Sound of water
  12. Real time with friends

I’m sure I could add a bunch more but this is what came to mind right away.  What is your simple pleasure?

3 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures

  1. This is beautiful, Jenny! As I am working on my gratitude jar and watching it fill up, I am truly amazed at all the blessings I take for granted! Love this

    • Thanks Lynn. I’m glad you liked the post. I have been thinking about putting a gratitude tree this fall with the kids. We shall see. 🙂

      On Tue, Feb 4, 2014 at 8:01 PM, Consider this… wrote:

      >

  2. God’s given me some awesome sunsets in the last few months. They are so breathtaking that I pull off the road so I can look at and feel their full beauty.

Leave a Reply

